Philadelphia Cricket Club to host 2020 Four-Ball Championship

Far Hills, NJ ( – The United States Golf Association
announced Tuesday that the Philadelphia Cricket Club has been chosen as the
site for the 2020 U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Championship.

The championship will be held from May 23-27 and it will serve as the first
USGA championship hosted by the oldest country club in the United States since
the 1910 U.S. Open.

“To return to Philadelphia Cricket Club, with its three outstanding golf
courses, for the first time since the 1910 U.S. Open is truly historic,” said
Daniel B. Burton, USGA vice president and chairman of the Championship
Committee. “The restoration work that was recently completed there is
outstanding and our Four-Ball teams will see their skills tested at the
highest level. We are very happy to return to this classic American golf

This will be the third ever USGA championship contested at Philadelphia
Cricket Club, home to the Wissahickon, Militia Hill and St. Martins courses.

The Wissahickon Course will host the stroke-play qualifying as well as the
match-play portions of the championship. The Militia Hills Course will be for
stroke-play qualifying only.

The 2020 event is the fourth scheduled Four-Ball championship after the USGA
implemented it following the announcement that the Amateur Public Links titles
would be retired after 2014.

The first three U.S. Amateur Four-Ball titles will be played at the Olympic
Club (2015), Winged Foot (2016) and Pinehurst (2017).

“Philadelphia Cricket Club, the oldest country club in the U.S., is excited to
welcome the 2020 U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Championship,” said Michael J.
Vergare, Philadelphia Cricket Club president. “The recent renovation of our
Wissahickon Course, designed and played by (A.W. Tillinghast) in 1922,
promises challenges a century later. The combination of Wissahickon and our
Militia Hill Course, designed by (Michael Hurdzan and Dana Fry) and opened in
2002, will present the players with a venue that represents both classic and
contemporary design.”

The Four-Ball championships are limited to amateurs with a handicap index
better than 5.4 for men and 14.4 for women. There will be no age restrictions.