Langer named Champions Tour Player of the Year again

Ponte Vedra Beach, FL ( – Bernhard Langer was named the
Champions Tour Player of the Year for the fourth time on Monday.

Langer won five tournaments in 2014, including two major championships. He
also claimed the season-long Charles Schwab Cup for the second time in his
career. Langer, who topped the money list for a record sixth time, previously
won this award in 2008, 2009 and 2010.

“I’m thrilled to be voted by my peers as the Player of the Year. Winning the
Jack Nicklaus Award is a very satisfying accomplishment; a very meaningful
achievement, especially with so many exceptional players on the Champions
Tour,” said Langer, who became the first player ever to win the Jack Nicklaus
Award. “I figured I had a pretty strong case in the voting, but you never know
until it’s actually announced.”

Langer won the season-opening Mitsubishi Electric Championship at Hualalai and
led the Charles Schwab Cup race until Colin Montgomerie moved ahead of him
with a win at the U.S. Senior Open. Langer reclaimed the lead in the season-
long race with a dominating 13-stroke victory at the Senior British Open, and
he remained atop the points list the rest of the year.

Scott Dunlap claimed the Champions Tour Rookie of the Year award, while Langer
also claimed the Byron Nelson Award as the Champions Tour scoring leader with
a 68.03 scoring average.

Dunlap was a playoff winner at the Boeing Classic and he finished second at
the Quebec City Championship and the Pacific Links Hawaii Championship.