Lahiri rallies, tops Chawrasia in Indian Open playoff

New Delhi, India ( – Anirban Lahiri birdied the first
playoff hole on Sunday to defeat S.S.P. Chawrasia in an all-Indian playoff and
win the Hero Indian Open.

On a tough, windy day that yielded just 16 total rounds under par, Lahiri
carded a 2-under 69 to finish regulation tied with Chawrasia at 7-under-par
277. Chawrasia, who held a share of the first-round lead and was the outright
leader at the conclusion of rounds two and three, struggled en route to a 5-
over 76.

The 27-year-old Lahiri earned his tour card by finishing in the top 25 in the
European Q School and he has since gone on to pick up his first two European
Tour victories, both of which have come in the last three weeks. Lahiri’s
other win was at the Maybank Malaysian Open two weeks ago.

Joakim Lagergren (69), Mithun Perera (69), Prayad Marksaeng (71) and Marcus
Fraser (72) all finished tied for third at 6-under 278 at Delhi Golf Club.

Siddikur Rahman, who held the lead early on in his round, struggled down the
stretch and shot a 5-over 76 like Chawrasia. Rahman finished tied for seventh
with Romain Wattel (68) and Richard McEvoy (70) at minus-5.