Day, Tringale fire 55 to lead in Naples

Naples, FL ( – Jason Day and Cameron Tringale combined for a
17-under 55 in Thursday’s scramble format and they grabbed a 2-stroke lead
after one round of the Franklin Templeton Shootout.

Day is making his second appearance at this event, while Tringale is playing
for the first time at Tiburon Golf Club.

Defending champions Harris English and Matt Kuchar are alone in second place
at 15-under 57.

Keegan Bradley, who won this title in 2011 with Brendan Steele, teamed with
Camilo Villegas for a 13-under 59. They were joined in third place by Graeme
McDowell and Gary Woodland as well as Ryan Palmer and Jimmy Walker.

Two former winning teams — Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker (2009) and Sean
O’Hair and Kenny Perry (2012) — are tied for sixth place at 12-under 60. The
were joined there by Justin Leonard and Rory Sabbatini, along with a pair of
former major champions Retief Goosen and Mike Weir.

Charles Howell III and Scott Verplank, Billy Horschel and Ian Poulter, and
Patrick Reed and Brandt Snedeker share 10th place at minus-11.

After playing a scramble on Thursday, the teams will play a modified alternate
shot format on Friday and a better-ball partner format in Saturday’s final